Visiting Year 2013

Professor Dr Abd al-Fattah El-Awaisi , F.R.Hist.S

Abd al-Fattah El-Awaisi is a Professor of International Relations and a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society ? UK. He is a British Palestinian and lived in both the Arab, Muslim countries and the West, in particular the UK, and has a thorough knowledge of their history, politics, cultures, societies, and religions.

Professor Abd al-Fattah El-Awaisi's has been teaching and researching at both Arab, British, Malaysian and Turkish universities for more than 27 years (from 1986). This includes universities in Occupied Palestine (4), United Kingdom (3), United Arab Emeritus (1), Yemen (1), Syria (1), Turkey (2) and Malaysia (2) where he is currently a Distinguished Visiting Professor at the UUM College of Law, Government and International Studies; and a Professor of International Relations at Istanbul Sabahattin Zaim University in Turkey.

His previous teaching and research has engaged with cross-cultural, interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary debate in International Relations and History. This is due to the fact that he received training in International Relations, Political Sciences, History, Middle Eastern Studies, and Islamic Studies; and taught for a number of years in International Relations departments, History departments, Religious Studies department, Arabic and Islamic Studies department, and the Study of Islam and Muslims Department.

Professor El-Awaisi's has an excellent record of research publications in both English, Arabic. Some of his publications have been translated into French and Malay. He also established a number of academic projects from scratch in the UK. For example, he is the founder of the field of inquiry of Islamicjerusalem Studies in the UK; and an advocate for multiculturalism and cultural engagement.

He received a number of awards, including: Stirling Council Provost?s Civic Award for 1999, Al-Maqdisi Award 2005; An Early Day Motion at the House of Commons (Number 2864, dated 25 October 2006), Motion at the Scottish Parliament (Number S2M-5037 dated 30 October 2006); Special Award for Innovation in 2007, and Pioneer Award for History Making in 2007.